← Back to program directory

2027 Program Profile · High school · AL

UAB Summer Science Institute III (SSI III)

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham, AL · Biomedical · Research / STEM program
High schoolComputation: Varies / not specifiedHealth sciences: StrongData Confidence B

Program Snapshot

What students should know

Access model
Sponsored research pipeline
Eligible students
Students progressing through SSI sequence
Current grade eligibility
11th, 12th
Geographic eligibility
Birmingham-area pipeline / verify
Research experience
Authentic mentored research / internship
Mentor / professional exposure
Scientists / faculty; clinicians or physicians may be included
Computational component
Varies / not specified
Health-sciences focus
Strong
Tuition / fee
Not publicly verified
Stipend / compensation
Not publicly verified
Housing / travel
Local commuter

2027 Cycle

Dates and application status

Application opens
Not yet published
Application deadline
March 16, 2027
Program starts
Not yet published
Program ends
Not yet published
Refresh status: 2026/current baseline; 2027 cycle refresh required

Editorial Assessment

How the score is calculated

Version 1.0
Curriculum Design & STEM Experience24/25
Academic / Research Quality18/20
Selectivity & Merit-Based Access12/15
Mentorship & Alumni Network12/15
Track Record & Institutional Stability13/15
Financial Accessibility9/10

Rankings cannot be purchased. Sponsorship or advertising does not affect program scores.

Alumni Experience

What verified alumni report

0 verified reviews
Alumni VerdictNot yet rated0 of 5 verified reviews required
Would recommend—Shown once Alumni Verdict is established
Confidence threshold0/20High Confidence begins at 20 verified reviews

No verified alumni reviews are public yet for this program.

Submit an alumni review

Evidence

Sources supporting this profile

2 sources
OfficialOfficial
Verified September 17, 2026

master_record

Official source validated; cycle-specific 2027 refresh tracked separately

View source ↗
OfficialOfficial
Verified September 17, 2026

validated_evidence

Cycle/status: 2026 official | Cost: Financial model not fully published | Compensation: Financial model not fully published | Duration: 8-week research internship stage | Eligibility/geography: HS students progressing through SSI pipeline | Curriculum/research: Original laboratory project under UAB faculty/staff after multi-summer experimental training | Track record/alumni: Multi-summer SSI pipeline; current official 2026 program

View source ↗
UAB Summer Science Institute III (SSI III) | STEM Summer Index | STEM Summer Index