← Back to program directory

2027 Program Profile · High school + college · CA

Stanford STaRS Internship Program

Stanford Medicine

Stanford, CA · Biomedical / Health Sciences · Internship / apprenticeship
High school + collegeFreeComputation: Varies / not specifiedHealth sciences: StrongData Confidence A

Program Snapshot

What students should know

Access model
Free research internship
Eligible students
High school and community college
Current grade eligibility
9th, 10th, 11th, 12th
College eligibility
Community college eligible
Geographic eligibility
Applicants nationwide; onsite Stanford
Research experience
Authentic mentored research / internship
Mentor / professional exposure
Scientists / faculty; clinicians or physicians may be included
Computational component
Varies / not specified
Health-sciences focus
Strong
Tuition / fee
$0
Stipend / compensation
No stipend identified
Housing / travel
Housing not provided/verify

2027 Cycle

Dates and application status

Application opens
Not yet published
Application deadline
Not yet published
Program starts
Not yet published
Program ends
Not yet published
Refresh status: 2026/current baseline; 2027 cycle refresh required

Editorial Assessment

How the score is calculated

Version 1.0
Curriculum Design & STEM Experience24/25
Academic / Research Quality18/20
Selectivity & Merit-Based Access13/15
Mentorship & Alumni Network13/15
Track Record & Institutional Stability10/15
Financial Accessibility9/10

Rankings cannot be purchased. Sponsorship or advertising does not affect program scores.

Alumni Experience

What verified alumni report

0 verified reviews
Alumni VerdictNot yet rated0 of 5 verified reviews required
Would recommend—Shown once Alumni Verdict is established
Confidence threshold0/20High Confidence begins at 20 verified reviews

No verified alumni reviews are public yet for this program.

Submit an alumni review

Evidence

Sources supporting this profile

2 sources
OfficialOfficial
Verified September 17, 2026

master_record

Official source validated; cycle-specific 2027 refresh tracked separately

View source ↗
OfficialOfficial
Verified September 17, 2026

validated_evidence

Cycle/status: 2026 official | Cost: Free | Compensation: No stipend identified | Duration: 8 weeks | Eligibility/geography: High school/community college; onsite Stanford | Curriculum/research: Hands-on biomedical projects; histology, imaging, genotyping; workshops; final showcase | Track record/alumni: Recurring cohort; nationwide applications; alumni news/examples published

View source ↗